A Discovery Of Witches

Composer: Rob Lane – View bio »

Release Date (digital): 14 September 2018

About the album

This is BAFTA and Ivor Novello award winning composer Rob Lane’s soundtrack to the major new TV adaptation of Deborah Harkness’ bestselling novel A Discovery Of Witches, told over 8 one-hour episodes, starring Matthew Goode (Downton Abbey, The Crown) and Teresa Palmer (Hacksaw Ridge). Rob is one of the UK’s most in-demand composers for film and TV, having scored Tom Hooper’s John Adams and The Damned United plus many flagship dramas such as Elizabeth starring Hellen Mirren and the BBC’s Merlin  and A Crimson Field. In this score you’ll hear all of the qualities that Rob is known for: his gift for orchestral writing, the innovative use of electronica, and love of finding interesting musicians to collaborate with.

Writing the score for A Discovery Of Witches has presented many interesting musical challenges; perhaps the most important being the need to capture a sense of time and history in a contemporary setting. Matthew’s lineage, for instance, stretches way back into the mists of time, and yet he is still clearly a man of our time. Diana, also, is a young woman drawn to the study of alchemy and ancient science, but someone equally determined to escape the imprint of her family history. It’s been a great journey… exploring this tension between old and new in the mixing of classical harmony with modern production ideas and the combining of traditional instruments such as strings, voice and wineglasses with sampling and electronica.” – Rob Lane

About A Discovery Of Witches

A Discovery Of Witchesis a contemporary love story set against the backdrop of Oxford academic life, but in a world where a handful of witches, vampires and daemons live and work unseen amongst humans, hiding in plain sight. The discovery of a manuscript in Oxford’s Bodleian Library throws historian Diana Bishop (Teresa Palmer) into the heart of a dangerous mystery – and into the path of an enigmatic geneticist Matthew Lairmont (Matthew Goode), who we discover also has a dark family secret: he is a vampire. As Diana and Matthew embark on a journey to understand the secrets of an ancient manuscript and as their relationship develops and their relationship comes into play, events threaten to unravel the fragile peace that has long existed between witches, vampires, daemons and humans.

  1. Introducing Matthew Clairmont & Diana Bishop – 02:19
  2. Song of Home – Ashmole 782 – 05:04
  3. First Meeting – 01:54
  4. Hunting Satu – 02:45
  5. Stalking Montage – 02:10
  6. Mathieu Murdered – Stag Hunt – 03:43
  7. There’s Something About Matthew – 01:43
  8. Gerbert Punishes Juliette – 02:03
  9. How Magic Will Be Lost – 02:18
  10. Drive To Matthew’s Home – The Congregation – 03:08
  11. Instinctive Magic – 02:34
  1. First Kiss – 02:35
  2. Witch-Wind – 03:46
  3. Separation Brings the Witch-Rain – 02:53
  4. Matthew’s Church – 01:22
  5. Origins – 01:55
  6. The Knights of Lazarus – 02:29
  7. Joined Together – 02:05
  8. Rescuing Diana – 04:22
  9. Branded – 02:52
  10. Slow Motion Dance – 01:34
  11. The Congregation Vote – 01:57
  12. Farewell to Sarah & Emily – 01:19
  13. Finale – 02:27