Boat Story

Composer: Dominik Scherrer – View bio »

Release Date (digital): 5 January 2024

About the album

This is composer Dominik Scherrer’s soundtrack to the BBC thriller ‘Boat Story’. Incorporating a diverse range of musical styles, Dominik’s soundtrack is eclectic, captivating and full of character.

“Crafting the score for Boat Story posed a unique challenge as I navigated through diverse moods and narrative styles, from comedy to thriller to moments of discomfort. Unlike my usual approach, I opted for a unifying theme presented in wildly different arrangements, ranging from Wendy Carlos-inspired Purcellian whistling tune, to loungey 1960s bossa/strings tunes, to a mock-synth Bach fugue, and Dick Dale surf guitar vibes. This musical journey mirrors the storytelling approach, reminiscent of a picture book, ensuring a harmonious yet eclectic sonic experience for Boat Story viewers.”- Dominik Scherrer

‘At its heart, Boat Story is an action-thriller about two ordinary people whom the world has turned its back on, and whether they’re willing – or desperate enough – to do something crazy to get what they want in life. Pushed to the very edge, can they trust each other and get away with their lives and the money?

Boat Story embodies twists and turns with character-driven, surprising storytelling. Off-beat humour contrasts with high-octane action sequences against the spectacular backdrop of the beautiful, windswept Yorkshire coastline.’

The six-part series stars Daisy Haggard, Paterson Joseph, Tchéky Karyo, Joanna Scanlan, Craig Fairbrass and Phil Daniels. It is written by Harry and Jack Williams (The Tourist, Baptiste) and produced by award-winning All3Media production company, Two Brothers Pictures.

All episodes of ‘Boat Story’ are streaming now on BBC iPlayer.

  1. This Is a Story About a Boat – 3:18
  2. Decapitated Head – 2:16
  3. Rough Seas Make Good Captains – 1:36
  4. Self Storage – 1:21
  5. Preparing for Ambush – 1:59
  6. Hostage Situation – 1:44
  7. Massacre – 2:45
  8. To HM Prison Slimpton – 4:54
  9. Inevitable Betrayal – 3:29
  1. This is Me 2.0 – 1:18
  2. Mr. Monkey – 0:47
  3. Insomnia – Instrumental – 1:24
  4. Delivering the Drugs – 2:07
  5. Obsession with Pottery – 3:54
  6. Pasty Pastries Patsty’s – 1:08
  7. Les Enfants – 4:28
  8. The End – 2:15