Composer: Chris Roe– View bio »

Release Date (digital): 22 August 2023

About the album

This is composer Chris Roe’s soundtrack to the BBC thriller series ‘WOLF’. From tense and eerie strings to intricate vocals, Chris’ wonderfully diverse score showcases his talent for pushing musical boundaries.

‘WOLF” is based on the Jack Caffery novels by Mo Hayder, produced by Hartswood Films (Sherwood) and APC Studios and stars Ukweli Roach, Sacha Dhawan, Iwan Rheon, Juliet Stevenson and Owen Teale.

‘DI Jack Caffery is a young detective beset by nightmares. Obsessed with the neighbour he believes murdered his 10 year-old brother in the 90s, Jack finds himself trying to right the wrongs of others – but at what cost? In an isolated house in Monmouthshire, the wealthy Anchor-Ferrers family find themselves the victims of a psychopath’s cruel games, trapped and terrorised. When the two narratives collide, it is a thrilling, nail-biting and deeply disturbing race against time.’

‘Mo Hayder’s books are full of darkness, so for the soundtrack, I wanted to draw from the Celtic roots of the show’s landscape, to create eerie, disturbing soundscapes by pushing these traditional folk instruments out of their comfort zone.

Megan Gallagher’s script also brilliantly teased out the twisted humour in the original story, and so we wanted the soundtrack to have a real theatrically to it; from the bold, brash and slightly mocking main theme for the Hazmat man, as well as a sense of slapstick awkwardness for Honey and Molina’s storyline. 

Finally, the backbone of the score is a ‘Wolf pack’ of eight cellos which we recorded to draw out the pain and heartache of Jack’s obsession with the disappearance of his brother. 

This was a dream project to score with so many threads to the storyline and such a mashup of different genres. A huge thank you to Hartswood Films, APC and the BBC for bringing me on board and for creating such an inspiring project.’ – Chris Roe

‘WOLF’ is currently available to watch on BBC iPlayer.

  1. Hazmat (Main Titles) – 2:19
  2. Dovecote (Dacw ‘Nghariad) feat. Eve Goodman – 1:48
  3. Across The Severn – 3:04
  4. Their Own Nest – 2:38
  5. Lemon Drizzle – 2:17
  6. The River People– 2:15
  7. Dove – 1:43
  8. Monsties – 2:53
  9. The Good Son – 3:23
  10. We’re Going To Play A Little Game – 2:12
  11. Help Me– 3:26
  1. Honey And Molina – 2:43
  2. Crocodile – 1:56
  3. Ewan – 2:32
  4. Golden Syrup – 2:44
  5. Oh Becca… – 2:04
  6. I Thought They Were Nightmares – 2:17
  7. You’ll Go Underground – 1:47
  8. Afraid Of The Dark – 2:12
  9. Is That Blood? – 2:06
  10. Have You Worked Out Who I Am Yet? – 3:19
  11. It’s Not Your Fault – 3:29